Cooking Adventures

A Little Green Boost

Today’s post will be short and sweet, but will possibly boost some fruitfulness into your life!

Haha aren’t I punny…

Okay, so it goes that I enjoy a good smoothie, especially in the summertime… mmmm. But I can never quite justify the cost of it – $6 for a cup of slushed up veggies & fruits?? I can easily buy a few kilos of the actual produce at the market!

So I’ve always wanted to make my own smoothies and one day I chanced upon this recipe on 1 of my favourite blogs. The combination sounds fantastic and it apparently boosts up the skin too?? I’m in!

But the problem was, I didn’t have a blender. Eeps.

So this is where the housie came to the rescue – when I told her that I was eyeing this smoothie recipe, she went, ‘Don’t you know I’ve a blender? It’s been sitting in our kitchen!’

Apparently, she had a BRAND NEW SEALED UP blender in our apartment for a year and I didn’t realise it!! I saw the box but I thought it was empty, waiting to be used for packing or moving! Yea, great observation skills that I have.

A treasure trove that's been sitting in our apartment for over a year!
A treasure trove that’s been sitting in our apartment for over a year!

Whee so now I’ve a blender to play with! Time to start whizzing…

Locked & loaded
Locked & loaded

And tadah!

Ohhh yea homemade smoothie!
Ohhh yea homemade smoothie! Whoop!

Yup, just as I thought when I first saw the recipe – the smoothie was delicious. The spinach and avocado were quite neutral in this smoothie but you can really taste the sweet and sour tang of the pineapple, the soothing tones of coconut water, creaminess of the banana and pops of blueberries.

Super refreshing and wholesome - no added sugar too!
Super refreshing and wholesome – no added sugar too!

The recipe is quite forgiving and you can be quite loose with the measurements – go crazy with the amount of fruit and veggies that you want and it would still taste pretty good!

In fact, when I went with the prescribed 2 cups of spinach initially, I found the smoothie to be not as green. I mean it tasted good but you gotta make it green to make it look healthy right?? So I generously plopped in 2 more cups of spinach and the taste wasn’t affected at all – yay!

Yay our in-house smoothie! Couldn't have done it without Ann's blender
Yay our in-house smoothie! Couldn’t have done it without Ann’s blender 🙂

So anyway, here’s the recipe for the smoothie. It’s originally called the Glowing Skin Smoothie but as the skin-boosting qualities haven’t been quite tested out by me yet, I’ll just nickname it My Little Green Boost for now!

Glowing Skin Smoothie aka My Little Green Boost (makes 3 cups)

(adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup plain coconut water
  • 1 large ripe banana
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh pineapple, chopped
  • 4 cups spinach (or however green you want your smoothie to be! you can start off with 2 cups and add more later)
  • 1/2 avocado sliced
  • 1/2 cup blueberries (I used frozen but feel free to use fresh ones)

As directed in the recipe, I added the ingredients in the above order and whizzed them up 🙂

I guess now with Spring here, the weather up in Queensland is getting more tropical and pineapples are definitely in season! So why not take advantage of this season and give this little green boost a go?

I’m not sure how much of a skin-booster it is but it sure is delicious and guaranteed to hit your fruits-veggies quota for the day!

Happy Green Boosting!

Leave a Reply

