Faith

What feeds your soul?

Although this blog is primarily about my physical meals, I guess I should also take the time to record down my spiritual feeding here.

And while we eat our meals everyday, have you ever thought about feeding your soul?

I thank God for the faithful preaching of His word at my church and at last Saturday’s youth fellowship, one of our full-time ministers spoke on the importance of reading God’s word. I thought it was a good message to start off the new year so here are the points highlighted in the message.

So why read the Bible? Here are 6 reasons!

1. The Bible will keep us from sin

Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

-Psalm 119:11

2. The Bible will lift your burden

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.

-Psalm 119:105

3. The Bible will bring you joy

Thy testimonies have I taken as an heritage for ever: for they are the rejoicing of my heart.

-Psalm 119:111

4. The Bible will lead you to wisdom 

The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple.

-Psalm 119:130

5. The Bible will give you peace

Great peace have they which love thy law: and nothing shall offend them.

-Psalm 119:165

6. The Bible will bring you back to God

I have gone astray like a lost sheep; seek thy servant; for I do not forget thy commandments.

-Psalm 119:176

But do note that you have to be a believer in Jesus Christ for the 6 points to take relevance in your life, for reading the Bible is a spiritual exercise, and we need the Holy Spirit to guide us to gain understanding. Ref 1 Corinthians 2:12-14. If you are outside the kingdom of God, will you open up your heart to Jesus Christ today and accept that He paid the penalty of your sins, that you may be reconciled with God?

For my fellow brothers & sisters-in-Christ, I think this is a wonderful reminder to be diligent in our Quiet Time with God, through much reading of His word, meditating and prayer. May we start 2014 right with God!

Leave a Reply

