Singapore · Top pick

Leong Kee Bak Kut Teh

Remember when I said that I may have hit some foodie milestones during my short trip back home?

Well, here’s one of them – folks, I think I may have just found the best Klang bak kut teh in Singapore, at Leong Kee Bak Kut Teh.

321 Beach Road Junction of Beach Road & Sultan Gate, Singapore
321 Beach Road
Junction of Beach Road & Sultan Gate, Singapore

Okay, so according to what the locals say, and as confirmed by Wiki, there are variations to this pork ribs soup dish. In Singapore, the bak kut teh mostly has a peppery soup. On the other hand, our Malaysian neighbours tend to give the soup a herbal taste, and this is known as the Klang Bak Kut Teh. 

And the funny thing is, despite being Singaporean, I tend to prefer the Klang version. I guess sometimes I find that the peppery version abit too overpowering. On the other hand, I like the subtle bitterness of the Chinese herbs and savouriness of the soy sauce complementing the pork in the Klang version.

And at Leong Kee Bak Kut Teh, I think they do much justice to the famous Klang Bak Kut Teh!

Best Klang Bak Kut Teh in Singapore, IMHO
Best Klang Bak Kut Teh in Singapore, IMHO

The soup was simply delicious and I love how they added some fresh leafy vegetables into the soup.

Some reviews have pointed out that the pork ribs were not as meaty. I thought that was true, but to have the pork falling off the bone, and then dipping the pork into the super hot red chillies and dark sauce, and letting the tender herb-infused pork mixed with the spiciness of the chilli and sweetness of the dark sauce melt in your mouth was enough to keep me satisfied 😛

The only disappointment would probably be the pickled vegetables which were a little too salty.

1 bowl of soup was a little pricey at SGD6 but it was well worth for a satisfying bak kut teh fix!

So if you are a fan of the Klang Bak Kut Teh, be sure to check this place out! And if you know of a better place, do let me know!

Leave a Reply

