Faith

What’s my next meal?

So yes, this is it.

Another addition to an already crowded foodie blogosphere? Especially one set in Melbourne, a city saturated with foodies, fine food and oh-so-fresh produce?

Yes, I did think about this for awhile, wondering how much of an impact this little blog of mine can make in this noisy world of foodies.

But then I thought, we eat everyday, and we do think about our next meal everyday. So why not add a little food for thought, to help you make your decision for your next meal?

It’s not just about the latest cafes or restaurants (although this would be a huge part of this blog since you can’t escape from the cafe/restaurant-hopping fever after being in Melbourne for the past 8 years…), but this blog will also be about my cooking adventures, my dinner parties, my meals with friends, and sometimes, my thoughts on life.

So yes, another reason to why-not-have-this-blog is that, eating is not just an everyday thing, it is a social thing. Food brings people together, and with that, memories are created, and I would want to record this on my blog. And while I am inspired by many chefs out there, I hope to do the same here, to let you draw inspiration by the many many recipes out there, and create some of your own memories that came just from dinner parties round the table.

Another thing about me is that I am a Christian. So you would see alot of my life is surrounded by church activity and people in my church. In the early church, the Christians were a close-knitted community, having meals at each other’s houses and fellowshipped:

44 And all that believed were together, and had all things common;

45 And sold their possessions and goods, and parted them to all men, as every man had need.

46 And they, continuing daily with one accord in the temple, and breaking bread from house to house, did eat their meat with gladness and singleness of heart,

47 Praising God, and having favour with all the people. And the Lord added to the church daily such as should be saved.

– Acts 2 (King James Version)

I am blessed to be able to experience that here in my church and indeed, I can see how God can has provided with us the means to have meals and bond with other people as we eat. As such, I am always thankful for the food that God provides on the table and the company that I can enjoy it with. And I hope to share some of my experiences with God with you as well, that you may not just have a sampler of my foodie journey, but that you may also ‘taste and see that the Lord is good’ {Psalm 34:8} (pun intended)!

So anyway, this is it – this is me, my journey in finding out my next meal and sometimes, a little insight to my journey with God.

So what’s my next meal? Stay tuned to find out!

